Verdecito

There’s not much more happening in my town since last week, mostly because nobody can do anything but talk about the rain – and how green it is and will be. I have had a bunch of conversations that go just like this:

“Good morning/afternoon/evening!”

“Good morning/afternoon/evening!”

“It’s raining/will rain/might rain.”

“The clouds look dark/like they might pass over.”

“God willing…”

“Yeah…”

“Goodbye!”

“Goodbye!”

Considering that the rain has been a huge opportunity for me (and because school was cancelled four out of five days last week because they didn’t want to go – “because of the rain”), I went out to a couple of the small farms in the area. The bigger operations are in completely separate towns, but some small farms – with their own small wells – do exists a distance from the town.

I’m short on time this week, so this will pretty much just be a photo gallery.

The first farm is one of my work partners’; his name is Esgardo and we’ll probably be working on a lot of projects together.

Copa de Oro

Overo 1

Gartija 3

IMG_9663

Esgardo’s farm, like the next one, is full of fruit trees and cool wildlife; the walk to and from the farms look like the photo on the far right.

The next farm belongs to a relative of mine on my host mom’s side of the family, Jose. I went with Nelly and her girls, which was a great excuse to have a nice long conversation with her. Nelly is becoming one of my favorite people, as she is not only open minded, but also loves to talk about other cultures (mine and hers, which means we’re always talking about America, Peru, and Japan, where she lived for three years a while back). She’s basically unflappable and has a relaxed way of dealing with the problems that arise. Anyway: farms!

IMG_9685

IMG_9751

IMG_9690

IMG_9748

IMG_9730

IMG_9724

IMG_9723

IMG_9707

IMG_9699

IMG_9749

Ta to the Da.

I’m going to get an ice cream and go to the witchcraft section of the Chiclayo market.

Hasta luego!

Leave a comment